21 most accountable counties to receive World Bank grant

President Uhuru Kenyatta with Kenya county governors

A World Bank initiative by the name Kenya Devolution Support Programme (KDSP), has identified and listed 21 counties in Kenya with the most prudent use of public resources.

3.8 billion

According to the report, the 21 counties will receive a World Bank grant of 3.8 billion Kenya shillings. the grant is meant to offer technical assistance and support capacity building for the regions.

Accountability criteria

In determining the top 21 most accountable counties, the assessment was based on key areas such as public finance management; planning, monitoring, and evaluation; human resources and performance management; devolution and inter-government relations; and civic education and public participation.

Allocation criteria

While making the decision on how much of the 3.8 billion to be allocated to each of the 21 counties, the KDSP team considered other factors like poverty index, population and hardship areas.

Top 4 counties

The County Annual Capacity and Performance Assessment released a report on Friday ranking Nyandarua as number one of the 21 most accountable counties, followed by Nyeri in second position. Then Makueni and Elgeyo-Marakwet came in third and fourth respectively.

Individual county grant allocations

However, according to Treasury Cabinet Secretary Henry Rotich, Makueni County will get the highest allocation of Ksh296 million followed by Kiambu with Ksh289 million and Kakamega with Ksh252 million. 

This will be followed by Mombasa County that will get Ksh 259 million, then Mandera with Ksh 235 million, Kisii Ksh 234 million, Meru Ksh 232 million and Bungoma Ksh 212 million.

Other counties that will benefit from the grant include Narok with Ksh 185 million, Elgeyo-Marakwet with Ksh 169 million, Laikipia with Ksh 161 million, Kilifi with Ksh 153 million and Baringo with Ksh 138 million.

Counties with less allocations from the report include Wajir County that will get Ksh 112 million, Uasin Gishu getting Ksh 102 million while Busia County will pocket 11 million Kenya shillings..

Nakuru County was also allocated Ksh100 million with Marsabit set to bag Ksh96 million and Trans Nzoia Ksh95 million. 

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});